If you’ve recently received a cell phone violation because of texting while driving or otherwise using a handheld device while driving, you should strongly consider speaking with a seasoned Richmond cell phone violation attorney as soon as you can. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today.
Do I Need a Richmond Cell Phone Violation Attorney?
Being charged with a traffic infraction of any sort can have a lasting impact on a person. Fortunately, with an experienced Richmond traffic violation attorney on your side, you stand a far greater chance of successfully combatting any charges made against you. Our firm is ready to help.
Consequences of Cell Phone Violations in Virginia
When someone receives a ticket for using a handheld device without Bluetooth capabilities while driving (e.g. texting while driving), they will face several penalties. To start, a cell phone violation will most likely result in a $125 fine and three demerit points on a driver’s license. For a second or subsequent offense, or if the individual was texting while driving in a work zone, they can expect to receive a $250 fine and three demerit points on their driver’s license.
If you were driving a commercial vehicle at the time you were allegedly caught using your handheld device while driving, you can face a potential $2,750 fine. Those under the age of 18 accused of cell phone violations will typically face a $250 fine, and if they are caught using a handheld device again, they will most likely have their license suspended.
Cell Phone Violations Charged as Reckless Driving
In most cases, using a cell phone while driving is regarded as a simple traffic infraction, however, if the officer in question felt that the cell phone usage endangered “the life, limb, or property of any person,” the person accused of the cell phone violation may receive a reckless driving charge.
Unfortunately, the penalties for reckless driving are far more serious. If you are charged with reckless driving in Virginia, you are looking at a potential 1-year jail sentence, a $2,500 fine, a potential 6-month license suspension, and up to 6 points on your driver’s license. As you may know, if you receive points on your license, there is a very good chance that your insurance premiums will spike. This means that you will essentially be paying for your ticket for months or years into the future. Do not face these charges alone.
Contact a Richmond Cell Phone Violation Attorney
Cell phone violations can, at times, have very serious ramifications. This is why the most important thing anyone can do after receiving a traffic infraction of any kind is to speak with an experienced Richmond cell phone violation attorney as soon as possible. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.