Reckless Driving Offenses in Virginia | What You Should Know

If you were charged with reckless driving in Virginia, it is in your best interest to reach out to our skilled Richmond reckless driving attorney today.

How does Virginia define reckless driving?

The state of Virginia defines reckless driving is described as the act of operating a motor vehicle in a way that threatens the lives or properties of others and yourself.” An individual can be rewarded for driving recklessly for a number of unsafe driving conditions including both intentional actions and negligent driving. If you were given a ticket for driving recklessly, you will likely encounter severe penalties.

What are the fines and penalties for reckless driving?

Depending on the driver’s specific reckless driving incident, that will decide what fine or penalty they receive. In most circumstances, duplicated offenses or additional evidence of poor driving history can raise the harshness of the punishment. Because the most severe penalties are not always implemented, it is essential to hire the services of a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney to help you lower the charges. Some of the most extreme reckless driving penalties include the following:

  • Possible fines of up to $2,500
  • A 6-Point violation cited on your driver’s license
  • License suspension for up to 6 months (for residents of VA)
  • Driving suspension in Virginia for up to 6 months (for out-of-state drivers)

What are some examples of reckless driving?

There are several types of reckless driving recognized in Virginia. Generally, it is determined reckless by whether or not it is dangerous to life and property. In addition to driving over 80 mph or 20 mph above the speed limit, below are some other examples of driving recklessly in Virginia:

  • Racing: Racing on any street is against the law. This includes driveways, churches, schools, and recreational or business property. Any racing charges will result in a driver’s license suspension of 6 months to 2 years.
  • Improper Passing: Virginia law has very clear situations where improper passing is considered reckless driving. The only exception is when allowed by traffic lights or a traffic officer.
  • Stopped School Bus: Any school bus that is stopped to discharge passengers, whether carrying students or handicapped adults, cannot be passed. A driver may also not pass an emergency vehicle that is using its lights or signals. Instead, they must safely pull over to the shoulder of the road.
  • Faulty brakes: Driving with faulty brakes on any road is considered driving recklessly in Virginia.
  • Overfill your vehicle in a way that obstructs your vision or capability to control your vehicle.
  • Failure to adequately signal or failing to yield to a vehicle that has the right of way.

Contact Our Firm

If you live in Virginia and have been charged with a crime, the time to speak with an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney is now. Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., our firm has fought on behalf of clients facing serious legal penalties for decades. We handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today so we can begin formulating a comprehensive defense on your behalf.

Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U