The state of Virginia takes assault charges seriously. To learn more, read on and reach out to our skilled Richmond assault attorney. We are on your side.
How does the state of Virginia define assault?
In Virginia, an assault is defined as threatening a harmful or offensive act. This means that there is a threat to execute a battery or another physical act with the intention of committing a battery. A battery is the physical contact part of the act that generally emerges from dangerous or inappropriate touching that is accomplished in a rude, vengeful, insulting, or angry way.
Give us a call today to talk with an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney if you have been charged with assault. Our firm is dedicated to protecting our clients and their futures.
What are the different types of assault?
There are two common kinds of assault in Virginia. They are:
- Domestic Assault: This refers to a battery against a family member or household member and is a separate offense from the standard assault and battery.
- Simple Assault: This is a charge in the event that an individual intentionally tries to cause bodily injury to a person or knowingly acts in a way that provokes fear or harm in the person. The fear must be reasonable, meaning that most people would feel threatened by the act.
What penalties can I face after an assault charge?
The outcomes of an assault charge can range from fines to jail time relying on the circumstances surrounding your case, your criminal record history, and the extent of the crime. If this is your first violation, you may have better comfort than you would if you had a previous charge.
It is also essential to mention that if you have been charged with a felony, you will likely face more severe penalties than you would if you were tasked with a misdemeanor. The punishments will be determined by the court by accepting the identity of the victim, whether the attack was linked to religion, ethnicity, race, or sexual orientation, and how intense the injuries were.
An assault is typically described as a Class 1 misdemeanor which is punishable by the court with up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. In some circumstances, one can be charged with a felony rather than a misdemeanor.
Contact Our Firm
If you live in Virginia and have been charged with a crime, the time to speak with an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney is now. Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., our firm has fought on behalf of clients facing serious legal penalties for decades. We handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today so we can begin formulating a comprehensive defense on your behalf.