It is unfortunate that many drivers get behind the wheel after drinking on Halloween night. As Halloween approaches, it is important to understand the penalties of DWI charges and your options. Continue reading to learn more and do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled Virginia criminal defense attorneys.
What is a DWI in Virginia?
The state of Virginia takes DWIs very seriously, which is why you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side if you were charged on Halloween night. In Virginia, DWI laws prohibit motorists from driving or operating a motor vehicle:
- While under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) higher than .02 but less than .08%.
- With a blood concentration of .1 milligrams per liter or more of methamphetamine
- With a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of cocaine, or
- With a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of phencyclidine (PCP).
What are the penalties for DWIs in Virginia?
Virginia does not take DWI charges easily, which means that even you were charged just once, you will likely face harsh life-altering consequences. The penalties for DWIs in Virginia include the following:
- A 1-year license suspension
- Up to 12 months in jail
- A potential $250-$2,500 fine
- At least 6 months with the ignition interlock device to obtain a restricted license
Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today if you were charged with a DWI. Our dedicated attorneys can help explore all possible options for you to make sure that your future is not in jeopardy.
What are the consequences of a second DWI offense in Virginia?
If you were charged with a second DWI charge, you will likely face more severe consequences. These penalties include:
- A 3-year license suspension
- Between 10 days-12 months in jail
- A potential $500-$2,500 fine
- At least 6 months with the ignition interlock device
What will happen if I receive a third or subsequent DWI charge in Virginia?
A third or subsequent DWI charge in Virginia will require you to retain the services of a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney. Without an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side, you may face the following penalties:
- The indefinite suspension of your driver’s license
- Between 90 days and 5 months in jail
- A potential $1,000-$2,500 fine
Contact Our Firm
If you live in Virginia and have been charged with a crime, the time to speak with an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney is now. Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., our firm has fought on behalf of clients facing serious legal penalties for decades. We handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today so we can begin formulating a comprehensive defense on your behalf.