Domestic violence is a serious offense in Virginia, that is why if you were charged, you will need to retain the services of a skilled Richmond domestic violence attorney. We are just one call away.
How does Virginia define domestic violence?
The state of Virginia emphasizes that anyone can commit an act of domestic violence no matter their gender, race, sexual orientation, and more. With that being said, an act of “family abuse” or domestic violence in Virginia must occur between a family or household member. This includes the following:
- A spouse
- An ex-spouse
- In-laws who reside in the same home
- People who have cohabited within the last year
- Anyone who shares a child
What are the penalties of a domestic violence charge in Virginia?
If you have been charged with domestic violence toward any of the above-mentioned individuals, under Virginia law, you will be arrested at the scene whether you are guilty or not. After that occurs, you will likely have a restraining order placed against you. If the court of Virginia finds you guilty of committing assault and battery or an act of family abuse, you will most likely face up to one year of imprisonment and a possible $2,500 fine. It is important to recognize, however, if this is your third domestic violence conviction within three years, you will most likely face a Class 6 felony, which can result in a five-year prison sentence.
Do not wait to reach out to our firm today to learn more about how our experienced Richmond domestic violence attorney can best help you.
What are the consequences of a stalking charge in Virginia?
The state of Virginia defines stalking as the repeated act of engaging in conduct intended to instill fear of sexual assault, death, or injury in the victim. For instance, if an individual stands outside his or her ex’s house every night after being told to leave, this may be considered an act of stalking.
You may encounter a Class 1 misdemeanor if you are charged with stalking in Virginia. This charge can result in up to 12 months of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. The judge will also most likely issue a restraining order, preventing you from making contact with the individual or their household. If you are charged with a third offense within 10 years, you will most likely endure a Class 6 felony, which may include a five-year prison sentence.
Contact Our Firm
If you live in Virginia and have been charged with a crime, the time to speak with an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney is now. Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., our firm has fought on behalf of clients facing serious legal penalties for decades. We handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today so we can begin formulating a comprehensive defense on your behalf.