It is important to keep in mind that the state of Virginia does not take DUI charges lightly. If you are facing the consequences of one, you may be wondering if you will lose your car. Keep reading and reach out to our skilled Richmond DUI lawyer today to learn more. We are on your side no matter what you are facing. Here are some questions you may have:
What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Virginia?
You can expect to face serious consequences if you were caught for the first time driving under the influence, despite it being your first offense. The penalties for DWIs in Virginia include the following:
- A 1-year license suspension
- Up to 12 months in jail
- A potential $250-$2,500 fine
- At least 6 months with the ignition interlock device to obtain a restricted license
It is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today if you have been charged with a DWI. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys are qualified with the knowledge and background required to discuss the specifics of your case and come up with the best possible solution for you. Our firm is on your side no matter what. All you have to do is give us a call.
What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in Virginia?
As you can imagine, you will likely face even more severe consequences with a second offense DUI charge. You will want to keep in mind the following if you are charged for the second time:
- A 3-year license suspension
- Between 10 days-12 months in jail
- A potential $500-$2,500 fine
- At least 6 months with the ignition interlock device
Give our firm a call today to obtain competent and strong legal representation from our criminal defense attorneys. We are here to help you fight for your future.
Will my car get taken away after a third DUI offense?
If you were charged with a third or subsequent DUI, it is critical that you have a dedicated Virginia criminal defense attorney on your side. Without the support of a skilled Virginia attorney, you risk facing the following punishments:
- The indefinite suspension of your driver’s license
- Between 90 days and 5 months in jail
- A potential $1,000-$2,500 fine
It is imperative that you obtain competent legal support if you have been charged three or more times. Our reliable Virginia firm will do whatever is needed to ensure that you and your future are protected. We look forward to hearing from you.
Contact Our Firm
Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., we handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today to get started on your defense.